I know that in the grand scheme of things, this really doesn't matter much. But it wouldn't take much to set things right.
Detroit Tiger pitcher, Armando Galarraga had retired 26 opponents in a row in tonight's game against Cleveland. If he retired the 27th, he would pitch a perfect game, only the 21st in the history of baseball (albeit the third one this year!).
Ground ball to the first baseman, who tossed it to Galarraga covering first base. As the replays showed, the throw beat the runner by half a step. But incomprehensibly enough, the first base umpire, Jim Joyce, called the batter safe. See here for details. After the game and after studying the replays, umpire Joyce admitted he had "blown the call":
"I just cost that kid a perfect game," Joyce said. "I thought he beat the throw. I was convinced he beat the throw, until I saw the replay."Now it is time for the Commissioner's Office to make it right. If they could over-rule the umpire in the famous George Brett pine-tar incident, surely they can over-rule this blown call and award Galarraga a perfect game.
"It was the biggest call of my career," said Joyce, who became a full-time major league umpire in 1989.
And since Galarraga got the next batter out on a ground ball to the shortstop, it would essentially cost nothing to make the change.